Feeling Tired From Protein?

i’ve been working out 3-4 times a week for the past 3 months and am drinking about 2 protein shakes per day. i noticed that i feel much more tired ever since i started drinking the protein shakes. is that possible? is that maybe a rare side effect? i eat healthy and clean foods, drink lots of water and exercise. so i figure it must have to do with the protein shakes.

[quote]Philly wrote:
i’ve been working out 3-4 times a week for the past 3 months and am drinking about 2 protein shakes per day. i noticed that i feel much more tired ever since i started drinking the protein shakes. is that possible? is that maybe a rare side effect? i eat healthy and clean foods, drink lots of water and exercise. so i figure it must have to do with the protein shakes. [/quote]

no.

Maybe you’re not getting enough carbs.

I changed my diet and went low carb for a little bit. I was getting good sleep and eating good. I just took a new job and the senior guy was showing me what he was working on. I could barely keep my eyes open and my head was bouncing up and down as I kept half nodding off. I did that for about a week before I added some carbs with breakfast. Now, if I get tired I’ll do some walking mobility drills around my office and eat an orange or some fruit.

Maybe it has to do with the fact that your body is building your muscles now through protein synthesis hard then it ever has before, because your now finally getting enough protein. This in turn, may be wearing your nervous system out because your body is working over time to repair muscle fibers, at a more complete rate. However I could be wrong.

Whatever it is, there’s no way that protein will make you tired.

[quote]Philly wrote: