Feeling The Burn

I have been working out for about 9 months now, I’m 5’10 and 160 lbs. During those 9 months of training, I about never felt the actual targeted muscle working during an exercise except legs with which I have a pretty good mind-muscle connection.

My biggest problem muscles are pretty much everything but legs. Chest, back, and my arms, I never get the pump in my arms or never feel my chest working during DB bench presses or flyes. I always try to focus and contract but I fail most of the time. I lowered the weight on most exercises but still no results. I rarely get muscle soreness either.

What am I doing wrong? I read up on every exercises the most I can and now it’s making me lose motivation. Any help at all is greatly appreciated.

Have you been gaining strength?

Are your weights going up? If so, then who cares?

If not, there’s a problem somewhere in your diet and/or routine.

You can decide how or whether this applies to you, but I couldn’t agree with number 12 of the recent Clay Hyght article “12 truths of bodybuilding” more:

1. Feeling the muscle work is of utmost importance

[quote] Dr. Clay Hyght wrote:
As previously discussed, simply being strong isn’t a guarantee that you’ll get the muscle size you desire. When you train with a focus on simply moving a lot of weight, you will (albeit subconsciously) lift in such a manner as to make the exercise easier, either by changing the leverage or by coordinating other muscles to aid you in executing the lift.

Take the bench press for example. To really have a big bench you have to do it in such a manner as to use your front delts, triceps, and even lats as much or more as you use your pectorals. However, while this may boost your ego, it’s not doing wonders for making your pecs grow.

If your goal is big pecs, then you need to perform the bench press in such a way as to maximize the stimulation on your pecs while minimizing the role the ancillary muscles play in the lift.