T Nation

Feedback on My Diet & Training

OK about me, got out of the Navy in 05, stopped PT all together and just slipped into the horror that is world of warcraft. The good news, I woke up bout 3 months ago quit playing it and quit smoking at the same time. I am getting back the the stuff I loved growing up mainly hiking biking camping fishing. Now I am on a quest to unfuck this fat suit I created.

I’ll cut right to the chase here so you don’t have to worry about burning your eyes out on a noob…I am a 26 yr old 6’ 205lbs and about 20 percent of it is fat. Do I gain muscle first or do I get to a more
healthy body composition and build up then?

Oh yeah My goal…I want to get down to about 10 percent body fat, and keep myself fit for my family… I am a nursing student and am learning just about every way the human body can crumble…no bueno. Oh let me not BS you to much, looking good hasn’t escaped my mind either haha.

You can quit reading now or be a trooper and give me pointers on my current plan below.

I am not dieting, I am however eating healthy and like a horse…I speak of eggs, oatmeal, tuna, chicken by the truckload, almonds(peanut allergy), olive oil, cottage cheese, skim milk, and tons of green veggies. I cheat on fridays to keep myself sane, but even then not as much as I always intend to haha. I am not losing weight, I am leaning out slowly(started at about 28 bf). Care less about weight its what I am made of that gets me.

I have been doing a 3 day split focusing on 6-8 rep of mainly compound movements about 2-3 per muscle being worked that day, guess about 15-20 total sets per day. I started lifting 2 months ago and Don’t want to stress tendons and pussified joints so I am probably on the careful side right now. If it feels light I fix it until the sixth rep either doesn’t happen or makes me want to run away from cold weights and go learn scrapbooking instead.

Mon: Bi’s and back[barbell curls,rows,deadlifts lat pull downs, hammer curls]