T Nation

Feedback on Levels?

39/M
I’ve been wanting to get tested for a while now so this year during my physical I asked my doc to test. (Internist) Results came back this week and I was shocked but also weirdly relieved to maybe have figured this out.

Total T was 174 - range is 250-1100 ng/dL
Free is 30.8 - range is 35-155 pg/ml

I’ve been having extreme fatigue for the last few years (getting worse) along with increased irritability (anxiety my whole life), unable to get lean like I could 8 years ago, feel weak a lot, joint and soreness in muscles, stiff and achey in the AM, sex drive has decreased. I sleep OK for a guy with a stressful job and two kids but I also eat healthy and work out like a madman including weights and martial arts (bjj) several times per week. I’m 5’10, 175 around 15-16%bf

Vitamin D is low and blood was taken at 3pm.

I’m going back in to discuss tomorrow, would appreciate any advice/thoughts/pitfalls/questions, etc.

I am not a doctor but you seem like a perfect TRT candidate. A more thorough list of blood work/results would help confirm that more but you sound like every other perfect candidate here.

Just be assertive and say “I want to start trt” dont ask if he thinks you should or that you want to discuss it. Just explain that you know you are very low and that as a parent it would be great if you could work with your gp instead of having another large expense at a clinic. Just be wary of poor treatment if he agrees. Read up on what will not work so you can move on immediately if he offers 200mg every 3 weeks or something.

IF you are truely interested in knowing your real T levels you need to take a break from the gym and any other body stressors like your martial arts for a couple days and have you blood drawn in the morning before 9am and be fasted from food and sex/masterbation. Only then will you know what your real T lvl is.

1 Like