Feedback from CPTs and S&C Coaches

Feedback from CPTs and S&C Coaches who are experienced in the fitness industry. I personally have been working a corporate job for several years (think office space). Recently, I suffered an internal ailment that had me out of commission for 2 months. If anyone has any idea how fucking miserable it is to be in constant pain not being able to do the things you enjoy then maybe you will grasp the level of frustration I was dealing with.

I’m finally getting better (i.e., going to gym, work, eating normal meals). However, I came to the realization that I hate what I do for a living and after getting very sick I felt it was necessary to do things in life I enjoy. So cut to the chase, one of those things would be related to fitness/nutrition.

I’m looking for suggestions on Personal Training certifications. I’m not sure if I want to work in a gym, for myself or open my own gym down the road. I just know this is the direction I need to head in my life. I have been working out for several years and consider myself fairly knowledgeable. I have researched several CPT’s (i.e., acsm, nasm, issa, crossfit, ifa, ace) and the feedback from friends has been helpful but a lot of the guys I have trained with also lack respect for a number of the trainers in the industry. I guess I could say the same when it comes to most commercial gyms. Any feedback, opinions, knowledge is appreciated. Tanks!

ego free.

RD

I was a “PT” at a commercial gym in Toronto. I worked for almost a year and was never actually fully certified (that should tell you how fucking easy it is to be a “PT”). Long story short I ended up quitting because I didn’t like what was going on. ANYBODY can become a PT. That means people think they are buying personal training, when really they just signed into a 1 year contract for over 10 G’s to be “trained” by someone as clueless as them.