Favorite Kung Fu Movies

Looking over the worst movies thread, I saw “Hero”, “House of Flying Daggers” and “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” come up.
Three of my favorite movies of all time.

Probably because I grew up watching kung fu movies on Saturday afternoon, I have a great love for this genre. Anyone care to share their favorite kung fu films of all time?

My real motivation for starting this is I would actually like to see obscure stuff listed that I may not have seen.

Shaolin Temple 1,2 and 3.
Once upon a time in China Series.
Fong Sai Yuk 1 and 2.

See the pattern?

I’m less of a fan of some of the more hollywood-influenced Jet Li films, but he beats any other kung fu actor out of the water.

I am by no means an expert on kung-fu films, but of the few I’ve watched, my favorite is Kung Fu Hustle.

I’d really like to watch some old-school 70’s kung fu films though.

You all have already mentioned my favorites. Perhaps you should open this up to…“What is the greatest martial arts flick of all time?”

[quote]Professor X wrote:
You all have already mentioned my favorites. Perhaps you should open this up to…“What is the greatest martial arts flick of all time?”[/quote]

Run with it my man…

Although Im pretty sure Enter the Dragon is the 800 pound gorilla in the “greatest Martial Arts films of all time”.

[quote]kung_fu_king wrote:
Fong Sai Yuk 1 and 2.

See the pattern?

I’m less of a fan of some of the more hollywood-influenced Jet Li films, but he beats any other kung fu actor out of the water.[/quote]

Fist of Legend and Hero are probably my favorite Jet Li movies. But you are on the money with those too.

For personal reasons the best is “Kung Fu”, the made for TV movie and the subsequent series. I can’t think of a movie (kung fu or otherwise) that had a more lasting impact on my young mind. It amazes me that that a series that combined racial issues, Eastern philosophy, passivism, violence and martial arts was popular in 1972.