T Nation

Fatigue During Workout

So I started lifting on Thursday last week and I found that I could lift pretty well or at least respectable beginner weights any way but I get burned out quickly. By that I mean a weight that I can easily do 8 reps with becomes too heavy for the next set.

Eg.) Squats

warm up:
8 X 75 seemed really easy
6 X 130 still easy so I just stopped and upped the weight
6 X 155 getting there but still felt light

I took a guess because I didn’t want to burn all my energy warming up so I went to 185 and started my 5 X 5

5 X 185 good ATG Squat felt awesome and I was happy
5 X 185 barely made it but all were good form
4 X 170

I dropped the weight because I knew I wouldn’t make another 5 but I couldn’t hold form on the 4th rep I felt my back arch a little to allow my hips to rise enough for me to stand.

My question is : Is this normal for a beginner being that my muscles aren’t conditioned yet? Or did I do too much warm up? I have never been a stamina type, always more strong and fast. I tried to limit rests to 120 seconds. Should I give myself a little more time or is this not something to be concerned with yet since I am just starting?

Thanks

Glad someone brought this up… do you happen to be tall? over 6 ft? Cuz the squats just destroy me cardiovascularly… way before muscle failure. And I find myself just sucking down oxygen like crazy waiting more than 2 mins because im so out of breath… The third set is brutal… Then after that deadlifts? Forget bench pressing that day. It’s just too much. So I bench press like minus 50 pounds.

I sigh and see short people who basically start out in a half-squat. They move the weight a 1-2 ft while im dropping the bar down 3 feet, and then coming all the way up, 3 feet. Racking it on the 2nd highest peg Then they wonder why im gasping for breath all the time. It’s ridiculous. Then you try to train for endurance so yer in shape, and you lose leg strength.