Fat Loss for a Type One Diabetic

Hi all , I’m a type one diabetic on insulin , I’ve been lifting in the the gym for about 3 years and love it ,it has changed my life around I was fat shit diet and drunk to much ! But now my diet. Is better and I’m less fat lol . But I’ve started to do a low carb diet under 50 g a day it’s going ok lost 7 lbs in 2 weeks, having to have less insulin so I’m hopefully loss some fat too but my problem is that in the absence of carbs my body is turning my protein into glucose and it keeps spiking my b/s levels so I have to inject more insulin so it a bit counter productive in cutting the carbs ! I’m 5 9 And 195 lbs I go to the gym 4/5 times a week cardio / weights

[quote]Peter35 wrote:
Hi all , I’m a type one diabetic on insulin , I’ve been lifting in the the gym for about 3 years and love it ,it has changed my life around I was fat shit diet and drunk to much ! But now my diet. Is better and I’m less fat lol . But I’ve started to do a low carb diet under 50 g a day it’s going ok lost 7 lbs in 2 weeks, having to have less insulin
[/quote]

So you need less insulin…

…except that you need more insulin?

It sounds like your total insulin requirement hasn’t changed so much as the timing of your blood glucose spikes (and therefore the timing of your insulin needs) has changed–fair to say?

type one diabetic since 13 and been in the iron game 5+ years now. I woudn’t slash your carbs anymore than a normal person would dieting. You will need much less insulin as you go along eating less calories/carbs and lose fat, I’m always much more insulin sensitive as a diet goes along, so my ratio of carbs per unit of insulin because much larger.

[quote]Mtag666 wrote: