Fat Loss Diet Advice

Hey guys, I’ve been lurking for a few months now and have picked up quite a bit from you all. So for that thank you!

About the diet advice. I just finished a 16 week diet where I lost 4.3% BF going from 17.6 to 13.3. I lost 9.65 lbs of fat compared to 2.83 lbs of lean mass giving an average ratio of 3.41:1. I lost around .78 lbs per week which is a bit lower than I would have liked but I still feel like I did well. (Dexa scan approved! :wink: )

My question is, with my goal being to get to single digit bodyfat(~9%), should I keep on dieting or should I maintain for a few weeks then get back to it? My diet followed a basic approach of lower calories on rest days and slightly below maintenance on workout days. I also adopted a few principles of IF (skipping breakfast/eating in an 8 hr window) during my cut. This is my first time attempting to cut down so any help, knowledge, or tips will be greatly appreciated.

And apologies for TL;DR.

What are your current stats?

You lost 3 lbs of muscle. That is your diet. Or lack thereof. With today’s supplements, why?

maintaining for a few weeks would be unwise. You need to fine tune your diet though. I hate IF, so I have no comment.

Eat more on training days, and get at least 20g protein every 3 hours awake.

JFG,

I’m 5’8" 173 lbs. What supplements would help in that aspect? Also, i thought it was standard to lose some lean mass when losing fat? Any details on how to fine tune…I’m open to all suggestions including ones that aren’t in line with IF haha. I can provide more info about my diet as well.

Ecchastang,

Thanks for your input. Can you help me understand why this would help (the 20g comment)? I can definitely up the cals on training days, would you compensate by lowering on non-training days?

[quote]okayrr wrote:
JFG,

Ecchastang,