Fat Kid!

This post doesnt regard me but more my littl brother. I’m really concerned about him. He is 8 yers old 5’1" and 180 pounds. He is fat but also solid too and packs one hell of a punch for an 8 year old. Any idea’s on what i should do with the kid? should i let him eat and grow and then when he is in his teens get him to workout? or should i try and fix his diet now? thanks

Holy Shit. I graduated high school at 5’10" 166lbs. My 8 year old daughter weighs about 45lbs. Slap your Mom and Dad for letting this kid get that fat. Hell, slap them twice.

You shouldn’t have to be checking his diet. Mom and dad should! Oh, God what is this world coming too? Just make sure he doesn’t eat junk food and sweets, and he needs to eat 3-4 meals a day.

In health,

Silas

I would fix it now. Diets are pretty much learned as a youth. Get him healthy now while it is easy to lose weight. He has plenty of free time now.

Avoid browbeating him, or even telling him he’s fat. He knows that from school; telling him so will make him think you’re disappointed in him. He shouldn’t have to worry about this; it’s a parent’s duty to responsibly monitor his environment.

Since they aren’t, try teaching him to read labels, and understand what things like ‘high fructose corn syrup’ are. Share facts about why manufacturers use this stuff; kids love a good scandal. Make derisive comments about other people’s eating habits, but avoid mentioning his unless you’re reinforcing a good behavior.

This is what has worked for my little brother (and my parents…), so good luck! The little guy even started weight training when he noticed girls in middle school… I’m so proud!

I have a cousin in America who is huge
he came to england at around 150lbs at ten years (he’s now 11 and weights 170lbs)

His parents dont care and feed him cos it makes him happy, he’d eat 3-4 times per meal, big plates too