T Nation

Fat Guy Wanting to Change

So I'm 38, 245lbs at 5'10". I've got my own power rack and adjustable bench with oly bar and weights. I've been doing stronglifts 5x5 off and on for a couple of years but making no progress due to my own laziness and stupidity. I've started it over 3 or 4 times now (like from the beginning completely with 45lb bar only). The last time I stopped lifting (January this year) was due to an umbilical hernia but it was repaired 6 weeks ago.

Due to this, I've started it over again with the bar only so I don't fuck up my surgery (repaired with mesh if anyone cares) and I've added cardio on off days with sat/sun rest. Previous to stopping lifting I was at 229lbs but I've gained since then. I've been off and on the Anabolic Diet for 8-9 months now and it did work (250-229) even without training.

Have been trying to keep macros at 60-65% fat 35-40% protein and under 30g carbs a day M-F and have more carbs on weekends. I'm the only one in my family eating like this so it's been difficult being consistent. I'm currently aiming for 1800kcal/day to lose fat.

Since I'm starting over from scratch, I'd like to start everything new with the advice of some experienced people who were in my shoes so I can do it right this time.

My goals:
Want to be around longer for my now 2.5 yo daughter
Lose fat
Gain muscle
Get big
Get stronger (would like at least 2x bw squat, 2.5x bw deadlift, and 1.5x bw bench)
Get healthy

I want to change and make it work. I just need some help. Doing it on my own isn't cutting it (no pun intended).

FWIW my biggest lifts (all 5x5) to date are:
Squat 175
Overhead Press 115
Bench 120
Deadlift 220
Pendlay rows 135

Had to stop due to the hernia. Any advice on training eating and sleeping is helpful. Thanks to everyone in advance for your help.

Oh yeah I'm not looking to be a super ripped guy just healthy and big enough to be imposing and intimidating to the boys chasing my daughter when she's a teen.