T Nation

Fat Gain While Bulking

Hi there, I have been training for 11 months now. I have put on around 30 pounds. In doing so i have also managed to increase my waist size from 30 to 32. I was pretty much thin to start off with. Is this normal? I have started to go on John Berardi's diet schedule in the book scrawy to brawny.

Basically just starting to regulate carbohydrates but substituting with fat and proteins. Please guide me. And yes I have 13% body fat i think.

[quote]dipym666 wrote:
Hi there, I have been training for 11 months now.[/quote]

What’s your current height, weight, and age?

30 pounds and two inches on the waist is fine.

How much has your strength increased? What are you using on the squat, bench, overhead press, deadlift, and row?

[quote]I have started to go on John Berardi’s diet schedule in the book scrawy to brawny.

Basically just starting to regulate carbohydrates but substituting with fat and proteins.[/quote]

Follow the program to the letter and you’ll do fine. There are other options too, but if that’s the program you want to go with, it has gotten other people less-scrawny.

First of all, why do you think that? Secondly, why does it matter? If you’re gaining weight, getting stronger, and looking better, what does a bodyfat measurement matter?

What’s your current height, weight, and age? - 5 ft 10 inches, age = 29

How much has your strength increased? What are you using on the squat, bench, overhead press, deadlift, and row?
All final sets
Squat - beginning it was 35 kg x 10, now its 70 x 10
Bench press - beginning = 20kg x 10, current = 45 x 10
overhead press - begin = 10kg x 10, current = 30 x 10
barbell rows - begin = 15kg x 10, current = 30 x 10
Deadlifts - didn’t start off with it. currently have problems with back rounding so working on hip and hamstring mobility.