T Nation

Fat Fast Carb-up Questions

I’m currently on Day 10 of a slightly modified Fat Fast. I’ve dropped 10 pounds so far, the vast majority of which appears to be fat (and water), ie. no muscle. All is going well, and while the immediate rapid weight loss is over (when lots of it was water), the fat loss is still steady and pleasing.

I started at 165 pounds, now I’m 155 pounds (keep in mind I’m very short!). I’ve been consuming, on average, 1300 calories a day - 75% solid food (50/50 P/F) and using Methoxy-7 (Australia!), Tribex 500, and a crappy fat burner (bloody Australia, again!). The most pleasing thing is this combination has allowed me to maintain muscle. Side-note: this is my first time using Biotest products, and I’m bloody impressed!!!

Tomorrow, I am considering doing a carb-up, as part of my modified plan. I think consuming around maitenence calories should do the job, using massive eating protocols, yet only using P+C meals. Therefore, I'm going to consume 2500 calories (about 45C/45P/10F) as part of this carb-up. How does that sound, for a one-day carb-up? Has anybody got any experiences they'd like to share regarding such a protocol, or any recommendations?

Leading on from this, I’m wanting to get back into ketosis pretty quickly. Tomorrow, my carb-up day, is a non-training day. Today I did an intense deadlift workout (with no pump :(, bloody ketosis!). The day after tomorrow, how should I go about accelerating myself back into ketosis? I don’t have access to any supplements other than those I’ve listed, so ALA and the like are out of the question. I’m thinking that after waking, I will have a straight protein shake (no fat or carbs) and then do an intense full-body workout, followed by 20-30 minutes of slow cardio. After this, I will continue my version of the FF as outlined above. Alternatively, I might try some GPP and ab training. I’ll see how I feel.