Fat, Confused and Frustrated

Stats
Weight: 252
Heigh: 5’ 10"
Fat: 34%

Yes I am overweight, this is why I am here. Sometimes reality hits us on the face, and I got hit pretty hard. I consider myself an intelligent guy, so I decided to do research before I started weight training. I have basic knowledge of most of the classic exercises from training in a rugby team during my college years, but I wanted to find something optimal for fat burning.

I read The Truth by Frank Sepe, which basically talks about seperating your program by muscle groups and even goes as far as talking about nutrition. However he does everything by weight, apparently if I was 252 pounds of muscle I would have to eat 5 chicken breasts a day…that’s not counting any carbs I would have to eat.

I also read The Abs Diet, that mostly focuses on having a full body workout, moving from exercise to exercise within 30 seconds and doing the entire exercise regiment twice, that way you get a cardio and a weight lifting workout at the same time. Which is what I am currently following for the past week.

Then I found T-Nation and excited I started reading the articles section of it. It seems that information contradicts itself with everything I read. Velocity Diet, Carb cycling, powerfoods, separate your training in muscle groups, do not separate your training in muscle groups and use compound exercises, do cardio, don’t do cardio, have a cheat day, don’t have cheat days.

You get the point, can someone out there point me to the right direction? I assume each person has a valid point if his advice is followed properly, but with such wealth of information I am frustrated and confused about what I am supposed to be doing.

I want to lose weight, what training regiment should I follow? What nutritional plan should I follow? Even if you point me to an article I would appreciate it.

I understand your frustration - bear with it.