Fat and Weak and In Need of Advice

I am new to TNation and in need of some advice. I love to lift heavy and strength has now been my main goal in the past months. Problem is, is I followed the “See Food” diet thinking it would help my lifts go up. Big mistake on my part and now it has bitten me in the ass. I look like shit.

My stats now are:
6’2’’ 255-259 pounds around 22-25% body fat (I’m guessing)
Bench: 285
Squat: 375
Deadlift: 455

Pretty weak for someone my size I know. I am stuck at a crossroads. I do not want to compromise my strength but at the same time I need to loose some fat/weight. I would like to compete in the 242 class for powerlifting and I can live with being 14-17% body fat. I do not know what to do and in need of some advice. I am open to try anything and I am open to criticism and tough love.

Thank you.

If your current lifting regimen is safe and effective (ie, you’re getting stronger without sustaining injuries), continue to follow it.

Eat 3500 calories/day, making sure to get ~240 g protein. Monitor your bodyweight with a good digital bathroom scale. So long as you’re losing at least 1lb/week, continue eating @3500 cal/d. If/when your weight loss slows, cut cals by 200-500/d. Lather, rinse, repeat until you’re happy with your body comp.

I would absolutely listen to EyeDentist in regards to nutritional advice. He very much knows his stuff and walks the walk.

I just wanted to contribute that I had the same experience you did, where I ate myself to a higher total and then had some anxiety about losing the fat and keeping the strength. It will be a rough transition when you switch from such a massive caloric surplus to something a little more milder, and you may notice a slight drop in performance initially as you adjust, but after that you can very much continue to build strength while losing fat. The hightest total I ever set in powerlifting (before switching to strongman) was also at my leanest.