Fasted Complexes?

I need to cut allot of fat for wrestling. I’m between 20%-15% bf. I’m 6 and 180 pounds. Would Complexes first thing in the morning on weekends be a smart thing to do, or not?

I have never done them fasted before, but complexes do work very well for fat loss, as well as conditioning that has very good carryover to wrestling (I wrestle). That being said, I do not think fat loss would really be improved by doing these fasted; they should be short and intense, its not like you are going for a light 30 min run. What I have done, however, is just eat a little bit (aka protein shake and some fruit) before I do them (when I do them in the morning).

Just my humble opinion from my own experiences.

I think the prevailing idea on complexes is that they stress the lactic acid energy system and require muscle glycogen to produce energy. In a fasted state, meaning muscle glycogen might be low, your body will start turning protein into glycogen and this protein will probably come from your muscle tissue.

You might be fine if you still had adequate carbs in your diet and were not fully glycogen depleted, but I’m not sure at what level muscle glycogen levels are insufficient to power exercise of X intensity.

I’d be interested in finding out if anybody knows.

How much weight do you have to lose and what is your diet like?

i have been thinking about this too awhile back but never really got down to trying it. i’d love to see how this turns out though.

[quote]Liv92 wrote:
I need to cut allot of fat for wrestling. I’m between 20%-15% bf. I’m 6 and 180 pounds. Would Complexes first thing in the morning on weekends be a smart thing to do, or not? [/quote]

Burpee ladders would be better, though I’m biased because I love burpees. Do a modified ladder, doing 10, 9, 8,…and so on.

One of my students (a wrestler/fb player) did ladders beginning at 30! That’s a total of 465 burpees!! He was a beast, got 3rd in states.