T Nation

Fast/Slow Metabolisms: Truth or Myth?

Is it really true that some people have faster or slower metabolisms that make it difficult to add or lose weight? Or are people who claim that they can't lose/add weight not really eating or exercising like they say they are?

If two guys are the same height, eat identical diets are perform the same type & amounts of physical activity, will they always be the same weight and body fat percentage?

How much of a actor is "metabolism speed," all other factors (diet & exercise) being equal?

I'm no scientist, but I have friends that live on wendy's, donuts, pizza, and pop tarts, and they are skinny as hell. They literally eat 2000 Kcals worth of chips and junk as a snack.
I eat clean all of the time and do twice the amount of physical activity as these people, and it is much harder for me to stya lean...

(they'll pay for it someday though)

Well, I used to eat like that. Now I try to eat clean as much as possible (hard sometimes) and drink only water (this has luckily become a habit). And let me tell you, there is a difference. Before, I was skinny. Now I'm LEAN. There's a huge difference between skinny, low bodyfat and no muscle, and lean, low bodyfat and muscle.

IMO, anyone can achieve the first. But the second makes a great physique that will make you look good nekid, and not only like you are lean when wearing a shirt.

Everyone does not have the same metabolism. Some people have faster metabolisms and need more food in order to gain weight.

Some people are also genetically gifted when it comes to gaining muscle and having no body fat. I have a friend who doesn't eat breakfast and for lunch has gummy bears and potato chips. He is around 5'8, 190lbs with about 5% body fat. My friend and I who actually eat correctly wonder what we did to deserve our mundane genes.

I have friends who eat candy,coke,and drink all the time,they weigh 170 are ripped and look bigger then my 208lb ass.I hate them so.