Farmers Walks: Fast or Slow?

What should be the focus when performing these for fatloss? Going full speed ahead with as much weight as possible? Or is tempo not as important as the load placed on the bar?

I have no experience with this exercise, hence the question.

In previous articles I have read from CT, when it is about fat loss it is more to do with time. In Built for Battle for example he mentions do 60 sec for max distance with 1min rest for 5 sets, if conditioning is the goal.
In another one specifically about farmers walks he says 2 min sets with 1 min rest for fat loss.

It depends on the goal. But normally I recommend a regular walking speed. No so much for the speed itself but to make sure that you maintain a solid posture. There is a diffference between doing farmer’s walk to build muscle, strength or improve conditioning and doing it competitively (to get the fastest time possible).

Ok so if I understand correctly, for hypertrophy/fatloss you want a greater time/distance covered (just like the one mentioned in the table from your program design course).

For loading, you would select the appropriate weight to cover that time/distance and get the benefits of metabolic stress WITHOUT losing solid posture?

See it this way: if you are squatting, deadlifting, overhead pressing, you name it, either for strength or hypertrophy the parameters will change but for both purposes you want to use proper lifting technique.

Why would that be different for farmer walks?

The technique you see in WSM competition is kinda like using kipping pull-ups in Crossfit competition: it’s the style that allows you to get the best “performance” while still being within the rules, but it is not the best style to use when you want to build muscle, lose fat or get stronger.

Can’t agree more, locking in good form is crucial. I’m certainly not arguing against that.