Farmer Carriers for Women vs Men?

I have known for quite a long time that farmer carries is amazing for everything and I know males would have to do more days and sets as females due to their low testosterone levels but should females do less reps/sets then males? I have been doing for over 3 1/2 yrs now and I am not sure how many reps or sets I should do to get the maximum benefits. I am also a huge health nut and love carries but should I generally workout like a male since females are no stranger to workout like a male. I am just a bit lost and I workout with a max of 12 reps with a max of 5 rounds per set with 3-6 reps for my light days, 7-9 for moderate and 10-12 for heavy days. If anyone can give me a bit of a boost, that would be awesome. Just a bit stuck is all :sweat_smile:

Females can usually handle and recover from more volume than males.

Are you making progress towards your goals?

Are you a male or female? Sorry, just not quite sure from what you said.

She is a female and is asking if she should do less volume on farmer carries than a man would.
Women can handle more volume and recover a bit faster so I dont think she should be limiting herself.

1 Like

Farmer’s carry prescription.

Week 1: 4-5 sets of 100’ with light weight (for a 200lb athlete, about 160-180lbs per hand)

Week 2: 2 sets of 100’, 2 sets of 50’ with moderate weight (200-225 per hand for 200lb athlete)

Week 3: 4 sets of 50’ with heavy weight (240 to 260lbs per hand for 200lb athlete)

Deload on week 4 or restart cycle depending on recovery.

Prescription is gender neutral. Focus on foot speed the whole time.

8 Likes

i’ll sign off on exactly what pwnisher said. The females strongman competitors I train with train in the same way for carries (and everything else for that matter) as the men.