T Nation

Family Resistance to Joining the Cdn Forces?

I appreciate feedback from those who’ve served in the Canadian Forces (or their respective nations’ Service).

I have been considering joining the Canadian Forces for several months now. I push the thought to the side and try to focus on other things, but it keeps coming right back to front and center of my mind. It feels like my “next step”, the next stage in my life.

Maybe it’s subconscious imprinting from years in Scouts and biathlon, with schools in proximity to CFB Griesbach in Edmonton, combined with a general disgust for the lack of discipline and morality in our Western societies.

A craving for an environment of discipline, standards, and tradition where a person’s value isn’t determined by how much they drink, the car they drive, and where “twittering” every detail of your narcissistic personal life would be considered shameful.

Whenever I’ve talked to CF recruiters, I tell them about my education and background (Bachelor of Phys Ed: Maj. Sport Performance, competitive biathlon) and the few who I’ve talked to all immediately say I’d be streamed towards an Officer in the Infantry.

Problem #1? Guilty conscience. I’ve always been terrible at AirSoft and Paintball, and I don’t even hunt. I’d like to, I’ve even tried to make myself hunt, but when I’m out there with the rifle in my hands I think, “God I hope I don’t find anything”.

B/c then I’d have to shoot the poor thing, or in the case of war games - my friend or family member. Maybe if my opponent were a scumbag fundamentalist I would feel differently about it. Maybe basic would kick that “pussydom” right out of my conscience and thereafter it would be a non-issue.

These are the things I need to know.