T Nation

Family Ever Bug You?

Well I'll be up front about it; my parents have seen me go through some happy times and some times when I was seemingly I guess a bit angry. I suppose you could say I have gotten a bit more aggressive than I used to be since I started lifting, but nothing dangerous or bad at all (most can attest i'm 100% harmless and very nice). It's mostly in the form of wanting to go "get it" type attitude and such, but then other times when I'm tired I'll sort of mellow down and not care to talk as much.

However, as much as I love my parents, I'm in college and still around them all the time, living with them when not in the school semesters, and to be honest, I have nothing to say to them and I don't really like talking to them all the time like they do to me. Out of nowhere today my dad sends me this e-mail about a prescription drug for bi-polar disorder. I thought it was absolutely absurd, since he thinks that if I don't fit into his boring genre of what I'm supposed to be, something is wrong with me.

Basically they have seen the side of me that I only put on with them because quite frankly I have nothing to say to them every day I see them or talk to them, and all they do is hound me with questions. Of course I get upset and angry seeming in this situation, but everywhere else I'm happy and positive.

I don't wana let this bother me because I always believe anytime someone gets defensive about something it's because the truth is they really do have the problem, but I just can't help to feel that this bugs me that they always think things like this about me, and it's annoying. Does anyone else have family members like this? I think they think I'm some steroid using person who has anger problems or something, when that is most certainly not the case at all.