Fall Training Log

After I walked 30 yards and was out of breath, I decided this week that it’s time for some functional training. I’ve been back and forth between bodybuilding and powerlifting workouts and having a hard time sticking to one or the other. I now realize that I never really wanted to be either.

Let’s face it, my mug has been beaten to a pulp from playing sports and fighting, so I don’t want to look in the mirror a lot (I’m still pretty, though). Powerlifting is more suited for my goals but I don’t want to strictly be a powerlifter either.

So, after ballooning up to 235 lbs on 5’11", at about 15-16% bf, it’s time for me to become a better all around athlete. I want to eventually train in MMA (when I can afford the outrageous prices in my area) so I need more endurance and to continue adding strength.

I have access to a weight room, track, indoor pool, and a truck to push.

I am currently a full time student and working so I will have to manage my time well. My current goals by January 1, 2006 are:

Bench Press: 415 lbs.
Squat: 500 lbs.
Deadlift: 520 lbs.
all of these lifts will be raw
400 meter sprint: 55 seconds
2 mile run: 12 minutes
Pushups in 2 minutes: 100
Crunches in 2 minutes: 100
Bodyweight: around 215
Fat %: around 8%

Once I acheive these goals, I’ll try to add more LBM while keeping performance.

Plan of attack:
Days 1 and 5 will be timed 3 mile runs, hoping to improve by 10 seconds each run

Day 3 will be timed 400 meter sprints, with rest time equal to run time

Days 2, 4, and 6 will be a modified Westside routine (basically Westside for Skinny Bastards, by Coach Joe DeFranco)

Day 7, rest

Food:
Calories - 3500 (will adjust accordingly as time passes)
Macronutrients - protein 40%, carbs 30%, fats 30 %