T Nation

Fact or Myth: Some Just Weren't Meant for PL

I have been powerlifting on and off for 2 years now (mostly on, with a few months here and there where injuries/military schedule have set me back) and am happy with my results and am continuing to get results, but one thing I have always been unsure of is if my body type is right for powerlifting, and hopefully some day competing. Since I started training I went from weighing approximately 145-150 lbs and benching 175 lbs 1 rep max, squatting 185 1 rep max, deadlifting 225 1 rep max, to weighing 180-185 lbs and benching 265 1 rep max, deadlifting 405 1 rep max, squatting 315 x 8 (unsure of one rep at this time, had a large spike in gains and havent maxed yet).

I have a very slim frame (i still wear the same size pants as when I weighed 120) and am unsure if continuing to powerlift and gaining weight will be good for my body based on the fear that my smaller frame isn't going to be able to handle much heavier lifts. I really hope that this is NOT the case because I want to continue pursuing my goal of being able to some day compete. Let me know your thoughts, any feedback is greatly appreciated.

You will get stronger over time. In reality 2 years isnt that long of time.

I understand this, what I am getting at is that my bones are not going to grow in size, so should I be concerned with whether or not it is safe for me to continue to pack on muscle and lift heavier with my body type? It might sound like a silly question, but I am still curious if I have no reason to worry about it, or if I should actually worry about it.

2 years and a 40 lbs. bodyweight gain...nice. If you're going el' natural, I think you have less of a chance of gaining to the point where your body is going to break down. Between powerlifting and the military PFT, you should be in phenomenal shape...just eat as frequently as possible outside of that chowhall.

Actually lifting will increase your bone density.