T Nation

Extreme Beginner

Hello everyone,

I am a total beginner to weight training so I know very little compared to many of the people here.

I am a soccer goalkeeper at 6 ft 0 in, and 155 lb. Before next fall, I’d like to get stronger without gaining too much muscle. Obviously muscle is a byproduct of weightlifting, but my job relies more on my flexibility and quickness than strength.

I have heard talk regarding fast–twitch muscle fibers, apparently I should be concentrating on these. What are they and how can I maximize my workouts in order to benefit my anaerobic strength?

Any help is very truly appreciated.
Pat

Fast twitch fibers three ways

speed work out FAST lift explosive

Lift HEAVY damn heavy 1-3 RM max

Repetition work taxing more and more fibers with each consecutive rep and set

so pretty much work out hard lift, do sprints etc.

Id also suggest reading the beginner thread above all the links and educate your self a bit theres a ton to learn available with a bit of work come back with direct ?

Phill

I’d buy the Ultimate Offseason Manual by Eric Cressey. It’s a little spendy, but it will save you from hours of research and years of crappy lifting.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1139080&pageNo=0

[quote]HoratioSandoval wrote:
I’d buy the Ultimate Offseason Manual by Eric Cressey. It’s a little spendy, but it will save you from hours of research and years of crappy lifting.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1139080&pageNo=0[/quote]

I would go even more basic than that since he’s a complete beginner in all aspects of training and nutrition.

Pick up a copy of Alwyn Cosgrove’s book, “The New Rules of Lifting” on Amazon.com for about $17. It will teach you all you need to know and give you some awesome workouts too!

First: I think Cosgrove’s book is a good idea, also check out some of Waterbury’s programs for the most part they are simple and to the point.