Experiences On Norvasc?

So my doctor wants to put me on Norvasc. My blood pressure has been on the high side for a while now (years).

Any experiences being on a calcium-channel blocker? Effects on training? Metabolism? Sexual? Mental?

My own background: age 36, 235 lbs, ~15% BF. Current training age 2 years, discounting everything prior to the eight years I didn’t set foot in a gym. Eating mostly clean, though cleaner the last couple months. Weight got to about 270 at ~25+% BF before I started training again two years ago. However, my blood pressure still consistently runs 150-160 over 90-100.

You are young for that. You can treat the symptoms. But it would be better to find the root cause. Hormone tests, CBC, PSA, CRP, homocysteine, thyroid, fasting blood sugars and perhaps fasting insulin.

Doctors treat diseases. Not all of them will help you deal with the root cause.

[quote]lctrc wrote:
So my doctor wants to put me on Norvasc. My blood pressure has been on the high side for a while now (years).

Any experiences being on a calcium-channel blocker? Effects on training? Metabolism? Sexual? Mental?

My own background: age 36, 235 lbs, ~15% BF. Current training age 2 years, discounting everything prior to the eight years I didn’t set foot in a gym. Eating mostly clean, though cleaner the last couple months. Weight got to about 270 at ~25+% BF before I started training again two years ago. However, my blood pressure still consistently runs 150-160 over 90-100.[/quote]

You seem sort of young for this. If I may ask, are you taking any supplements? How do you sleep? What is you water intake? How much sodium are you getting in your diet? This is hard to determine since there is so much hidden salt in canned and processed foods. You didn’t mention cardio. If your cardio is in the tank, your BP will go up also.

Here are the side effects of Norvasc from their web page:

? an allergic reaction (difficulty
breathing; closing of the throat;