T Nation

Exercises to help scoliosis

So i’ve been lifting consistently for about 4 years now, and just discovered recently that I have scoliosis. My right hip is raised some (giving me that functional LLD) due to the lumbar curve and there is a significant curve at the top end of the T spine meeting the C spine, rotation to my left is limited some due to that. my right abs, hip flexors, QL , obliques and Lat are tighter. Im working on stretches for all of those, but what sort of exercises do you guys think would be beneficial? I have already reached a somewhat respectable level of strength, but i don’t want to have the crooked spine bullshit to keep me from continuing to progress.

currently im using exercises like, weighted ab wheel rollouts, DB side bends, Deadlifts to strengthen the core, as well as stretches and foam rolling. What else if anything could I add or change?

Is chiropractics actually worth it? the chrio I saw said my scoliosis was significant, but what surprised when I told him I deadlifted 535lbs and squat 475lbs. Inb4 Lamar Gant, im not that freakish.

[quote]EllisUFC wrote:
So i’ve been lifting consistently for about 4 years now, and just discovered recently that I have scoliosis. My right hip is raised some (giving me that functional LLD) due to the lumbar curve and there is a significant curve at the top end of the T spine meeting the C spine, rotation to my left is limited some due to that. my right abs, hip flexors, QL , obliques and Lat are tighter. Im working on stretches for all of those, but what sort of exercises do you guys think would be beneficial? I have already reached a somewhat respectable level of strength, but i don’t want to have the crooked spine bullshit to keep me from continuing to progress.

currently im using exercises like, weighted ab wheel rollouts, DB side bends, Deadlifts to strengthen the core, as well as stretches and foam rolling. What else if anything could I add or change?