T Nation

Exercises for Improved Timed Runs?

ok, so the reason i feel this belongs in the newbie forum is because of the extreme ignorance i USED to train with. I have been training for the past 16 months, but training like an idiot i.e. focusing solely on chest/arms/back. so basically i havent trained my lower body in any way shape or form until a month ago ( when i started lurking T-Nation). To make matters worse i came equipped naturally with a pair of terrible chicken legs. I have since started squatting and dead lifting religiously but only the past month so i have a long ways to go.

this is all well and fine but heres the dilema. I-because of career choice- have 2 timed runs to perform in order to pass a physical assesment and i dont think their going to be easy.

First run: 1.5 miles. must be completed in less than 10m

Second run: 3.0 miles. must be completed in less than 21m

the cardio isnt really my problem, i can run the distances already its just that if i push the pace my legs totally go flat and i lose all strength. if i run at a pace much slower than the alloted times allow i can totally complete the runs. what are the best rep ranges and exercises to perform to allow me to put on the lower body strength to get the runs done in these times.

current stats.

6'0 @ 182lbs
Bench: 1 x 315
squat: 1 x 215
dead: 1 x 225

uhhh start running more....

and intervals. 800meters at goal speed.

what career?

Royal Canadian Mounted Police. It will be over a year before i haveto do any of the physical stuff but id like to get a jump on it.

You need to act like running is your job. Those times for those distances for a novice runner or someone who just jogs is a tough go. Is this a one time deal or is this something you have to perform routinely? The best way to run faster is to run faster. Intervals are great but if your legs are dying at mile two you have bigger fish to fry.