Exercise Substitutions

I’m starting Alwyn Cosgrove’s Fat Loss 2 from “The New Rules Of Lifting” next week. There are some swiss ball exercises in there. I don’t have one at my gym, so I’m looking for suggestions for substitution exercises:

1. supine hip extensions with leg curl
    (basically laying on your back with the feet up on the ball; first raising the butt till the body is in a straight line, then flexing the knees until they are at a 90 degree angle similar to a leg curl)
    I was thinking of just doing supine hip extensions with a bench (without the leg curl), while keeping a bend in the knees around 30 degrees. Instead of a concentric leg curl I’d have an isometric hold (please correct me if the terminology is wrong, I’m no expert).

2. Upper body russian twists
    (laying on the back on a swiss ball with the body in a straight line from chest to knees, arms together and straight up from the chest; rolling on the shoulder as far as possible to the right, then to the left)
    Will these work the same if I do them on the ground or on a bench? Otherwise I would use lumberjacks with the cable at shoulder level.

Any other suggestions?

[quote]CBassBeer wrote:

(basically laying on your back with the feet up on the ball; first raising the butt till the body is in a straight line, then flexing the knees until they are at a 90 degree angle similar to a leg curl)
    I was thinking of just doing supine hip extensions with a bench (without the leg curl), while keeping a bend in the knees around 30 degrees. Instead of a concentric leg curl I’d have an isometric hold (please correct me if the terminology is wrong, I’m no expert).

2. Upper body russian twists
    (laying on the back on a swiss ball with the body in a straight line from chest to knees, arms together and straight up from the chest; rolling on the shoulder as far as possible to the right, then to the left)