Exercise Rotations: Needed?

Hello guys, I’m a beginner (former decent lifter who quit lifting for a long time). I’m training in a whole body fashion, one exercise per muscle group, 2 hard sets, every other day and I’m progressing Just fine (It’s been less than a month since I’ve been back on training). At the Moment I’m doing the same exercises every time I train (es. For quads I’m doing the same leg press every time I train)

I wonder if there Is any need to have 2 exercise rotations, i.e. One workout i do leg press, the next One i do squat and so on

I would say that 2 exercises would be better. Not for actual hypertrophy but to reduce potential imbalances that could lead to injuries later on. There was a saying by someone who i dont remember : “the best exercise for a muscle is two exercises”. Visually there wont be a difference, but for your body to be more well rounded it would be a smart thing to do. Especially if you use machines like leg press and not squat free weights.

2 Likes

Need? No. But worth pointing out that leg press should probably be kept secondary to squats.

Many ways you could skin this cat, but i like Dante Trudel’s thoughts (a la DC Training) on this… if for one movement, you haven’t progressed in weight or reps in 2 consecutive workouts - it’s time to change out that movement.

2 Likes

Does It matter as long as exercises rotate in the long term? Maybe not in the same workout, maybe not within a 1-2 weeks spam, but over months (i.e. switching from bench press to incline dumbell bench once you can’t progress the exercise for 2-3 consecutive workouts) @Andrewgen_Receptors @hankthetank89

No.

Anything you do is going to work, presuming you don’t quit.

3 Likes

I dont like the idea of doing something all the time and then switching to something different.