T Nation

Exercise Pairings in Routine

I'm a beginner and new to the website and have found tonnes of useful information. I have a question regarding the structure of my workout. Currently I have structured it as below.

Reps: 9-12
Sets: 5
rest:90 Seconds
Workout: Alternative days

Day 1 - Chest/Back

Primary: Bench Press
Secondary: Dumbbells incline press
Auxiliary: Flies/ Cable Cross over

P: Barbell Row/ pullups
S: Lat pull down
A: machine assisted back row

Day 2 Quads/Hamstrings

P: Barbell squats
S: Leg Press
A: Leg extension- machine assisted

P: Dead-lift
S: Good Mornings
A: Machine Leg curls

I am stuck on what to do on day 3 and was wondering on when to include exercises for Shoulders, Arms and Abs. If I opt for shoulders on day three can I pair it with both biceps and triceps isolates? Also I have been doing dips (front)....should I include that along with day 1 and if so how many sets and reps.

Feedback, suggestions and criticisms are welcome.

How long have you been training? what are your lifts like?

Personally I'd change you split and exercises used. If you want to use a split training on antagonistic muscles (opposite muscle groups) id personally set it up like this:

Though this workout is probably for someone who has trained for a little while (5-6 months +)

Monday: Horizontal upper body push/pull
Bench press/bb row
Db bench press/db row
db fly (incline?)/face pull

Tuesday: (i wouldn't worry about supersetting legs...as a beginner legs should be tough enough without supersetting)
Leg Press
DB lunge
Romanian Deadlift

Wensday: Virtical Upper Push/Pull
Military Press/Pull up
Seated db press/lat pulldown (close grip)
Lateral raise/bent over raise

Friday: Deadlift and arms
Bb curl/dips
Incline db curl/tricep extension

Though as i dont know your experience level its hard to give advice on how you should train. At the moment i would say your current split has too much volume for a beginner.