Evil tuna?

Hey, I was looking at my tuna cans yesterday and noticed, for the first time, that they contain hydrolyzed soy protein. What’s up with that? Then I also checked the other brands and everything that was affordable contained soy as well! Any suggestions, should I keep using that kind of tuna for the sake of saving some money(I am in college,you know)?

What brands???

Get a membership with Costco and buy a case of the premium water packed Starkist. (SAM’s Club is also a good bargain option.) You have to be willing to buy large quantities but your unit prices will be rock bottom. As a weight trainer, I doubt you’ll have a problem consuming lots of tuna.

Look for the Starkist low- and no-sodium varieties. They have nothing but tuna and water in them.

I’d go with Bumblebee Albacore tuna… it tastes so much better than Starkist. If you can get a bulk package (from Sams or whatever)… I think it’s around 8 bucks for 8 cans. Theres actually a few more grams of protein too.

Hey guys, thanks for the answers. I am afraid I have no idea what Costco or Sam’s club are.
I am from Montreal, do they have those in Canada?
Do you have any websites or phone numbers?
Thanks

I have also noticed this. I have gone to other stores to try and find brands that do not have the soy protein and I have succeeded but they are $0.30 extra per can. Does anyone have any idea if the amount of soy per can would be enough to adversley affect me or my hormone levels?

I eat Bumblebee too, and it has the hydrolyzed soy as well. Is this a big deal?

I believe the amounts of soy protein from the hydrolyzed soy protein in tuna is negligible. However, I seem to recall that it is a source of MSG–it adds mouthfeel and extra flavor. If you are sensitive to MSG, you should avoid it.