Evidence for Protein Supplementation

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum but have heard great things. I am a physical therapist and have had a lot of questions regarding protein supplementation through the last few years and therefore decided to get more knowledge on the area. Now what I normally do in this situation is find a bunch of articles and give them a thorough read through and try to draw a conclusion based on this, in hopes that I can come with an informed and evidence based answer for my patients.

I must admit that in this case I was a bit biased as the theory to protein supplementation is very sound and I was convinced that finding concrete evidence for this would be a simple task.

I have now been looking about a bit for evidence and have thus far found an abundance of evidence that protein supplementation does not in fact help muscle cross sectional size and/or performance.

I would like anyone who has some evidence to counter this to please indicate it to me if at all possible.

Don’t get me wrong I don’t want people to post their opinions, or “what works for me”. I would really like some solid evidence preferably peer reviewed double blind studies. I would really appreciate it.

Here are a few article that people may find interesting that state that protein supplementation has no noticeable effect.

“Efficacy of Whey Protein Supplementation on Resistance Exercise-Induced Changes in Lean Mass, Muscle Strength, and Physical Function in Mobility-Limited Older Adults.”
Chalé A, Cloutier GJ, Hau C, Phillips EM, Dallal GE, Fielding RA

“Whey protein does not enhance the adaptations to elbow flexor resistance training.”
Erskine RM, Fletcher G, Hanson B, Folland JP.

“Muscle Performance, Size, And Safety Responses After Eight Weeks Of Resistance Training And Protein Supplementation: A Randomized, Double-Blinded, Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trial.”
Walter AA, Herda TJ, Costa PB, Ryan ED, Stout JR, Cramer JT.