T Nation

Everyone's on Edge

Saw a report today that a man ran in his truck into a Chic-Fil-A because they fucked up his order. He then got out and started punching a soda machine inside the place before being shot and killed by an undercover cop.

I’ve been saying this for the last 3 or 4 years but it seems like every dude in the United States is on edge.

I have my own theories on way this may be, but I’m wondering what some others think is going on because surely everyone here has noticed it as well, right?

It’s the ability to see that it’s going on. Violent crime is still amount the lowest rates of either of our lifetimes.

And this is in the world of surveillance and camera phones and morons with twitter stories. You can’t get away with shit anymore. Rates still record low.

2 Likes

Agreed on constant news and exposure.
And crack in late 80s - 90s - bad juju, making for a lot of crime.

Abundantly more talkin smack now - albeit anonymously on the net.

3 Likes

@pfury

Sure, yeah I knew that. But I’m not just talking about crimes. The dude going nuts because of his order is extreme… I’m talking about the general feeling of everyone on edge.

Just from day to day interactions with people.

Overplayed. It’s because we “know” how so many people think. And it’s easier to be on edge or think things are worse than ever because we have information that tells us about every possible bad thing that could happen. 25 years ago you wouldn’t have any idea this even happened unless you lived in the town. Now anytime someone does something unique everyone knows about it and it leads people to think that bad times are somehow unique to the present.

But crimes, wars, other data etc don’t back up the idea that we’re in some awful time. And that’s more important than what the dudes you’re around are telling you even though I know you’re a fan of what you’ve heard.