T Nation

Hi guys:

I am new to this. I would like your help to catch anything I ought to be doing that I've missed.

My questions:

1. Is my goal physically possible, using any methods short of a steroid cycle?
  2. Are the measures I'm taking likely to achieve my goal?
  3. If not, how should I change the measures I'm taking?

My condition currently: five-foot-eleven, 158 lbs. Lean body mass 137.4 approx. Classic Culkin physique. Discovered I am pitifully weak at compound lifts even though I can do Turkish get-ups with kettlebells and pull-ups with a 70-lb weight. Am ashamed of myself :frowning:

My goal: Gain 37.6 lbs of muscle to achieve a lean body mass of 175 in 12 months. Total body weight = not relevant to goal. Ab visibility = not relevant to goal.

What I'm doing: Starting Strength (thank you for the correction!) as written. At pathetic poundages, but they feel heavy to me.

What I'm eating:

Pre workout: cliff builder bar (20g protein)
Post workout: 12 boiled egg whites, 2 sausage biscuits + supplements
Midmorning: cliff builder bar, ensure muscle retention (33g protein + HMB)
Lunch: School lunch, all you can eat :slight_smile:
Mid afternoon: cliff builder bar, ensure muscle retention (33g protein + HMB)
Dinner: varies...but everything I can pack in + 1/2 cup lentils
Evening: protein shake (25g brown rice protein, whole milk), 12 more egg whites (sorry caveman, I left that out before)
Early morning (2 am): cliff builder bar

TOTAL ESTIMATED PROTEIN INTAKE 225-300g/day, average approx 270g/day (check my math)

Relevant supplements: 8000mg vitamin C, 6000mg L-lysine, 1000 mg red rice, 1000 mg cq10, 3000mg HMB in addition to ensure

Your thoughts, gentlemen.

hmm, at least you aint concerned about your abs.
A: wtf is all that sciency shit at the bottom? is that more important than eating whole eggs?
B: i can only see 120gms of protein and not a lot of calories in that diet. increase protein to 200gms and start eating whole foods-whole eggs and beef dammit!