T Nation

Evaluate Program & Squatting Situation

Hi, I'm a beginner and I wanted to start the following program:

Workout:
Squat 3x5
Bench 3x5
Press 3x5
Extra workout (i.e curls, plate shrugs, etc) nxm

The next time I do the workout I increase the reps by one. So, they all go up to 3x6. On my last rep I'll often go to failure. Each workout I add a rep (i.e. 3x7, 3x8, etc) and then when I hit 3x10 the next workout I add 5 lb and go back to 3x5. I plan to keep doing this cycle until I plateau on this program.

Just a quick point, I'm in the process of creating a home gym, but all I have is a 300 lb Olympic Barbell set, a bench and a barbell stand, which isn't connected to the bench so it allows me to do squats.

Here's the worst part of it all. I can't squat for shit. I simply lack the flexibility in the hips. I read the article Third World Squats (http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1856085) and I can barely even squat like the guy in the business suit.

Assuming my program is okay, which I'm curious if you guys think it's fine. I'm wondering if I should even start it given that I have such horrible hip mobility. Should I spend my time just focusing on improving my hip flexibility first and then when it's decent start my program or should I start regardless?

Also, given my lack of flexibility will I ever be able to do a third world squat? If so, how long will it take tell I get to that level of flexibility.

Do goblet squats. Just 10lb should be more than sufficient for most. The counterbalance will help you get into the squat position, as many people can’t squat initially because of both flexibility and balance issues.

Go as deep as you can and hold it to stretch the muscles out. Also do reps.

Or you can just practice squat/stretching as that article suggests. I personally found goblet squats to be far more helpful though.