Error in Calculations and Sprints

Hey guys.

I started the 5/3/1 program 2 1/2 months ago and I LOVE it. I think i found my calling. I’ve been lifting for almost 9 years and never have I been so pulled to a program like this one.

My question is I’ve been making a mistake the past couple of months. Instead of calculating 90 per max I’ve been calculating from my 100 per max…what should I do??? Just adjust???

Also should I do sprints on off days or the days I lift (I’m currently doing the BBB version of the 531). I usually do Cosgrove Evil 8 twice a week and skip rope the other 2 days(10 min) after I lift.

Any suggestions about sprints and adjustments?

How many reps are you getting on the PR sets?
And 2.5 months = partway through your 4th cycle, I assume?

If you’re hitting rep PRs and don’t feel like you’re struggling, my temptation would be stick it out until cycle 5 is complete and apply the 5 forward, 2-3 back rule.

I’m doing well on them. I’m hitting 2 on the squat, deadlift and press but where I’m struggling for the PR set is the bench press. It’s a killer, I barely get 1.

No I’m partway through my third (3 weeks plus 1 deload week).

[quote]BigAbi wrote:
I’m doing well on them. I’m hitting 2 on the squat, deadlift and press but where I’m struggling for the PR set is the bench press. It’s a killer, I barely get 1.

No I’m partway through my third (3 weeks plus 1 deload week).[/quote]

If you’re getting 2 on your 95% max with deads, squats, and MPs I would leave those alone. If you’re really struggling to get that 1 rep with bench (or your 3RM or 5RM for that matter), I would think about resetting that lift back to 90%. Leave the others alone if you feel good about them. I’m not sure, but I think somewhere Jim also recommended going three cycles back if you’re stalling, but I’m not positive about that.