OH PRESS 5x5, 85#, 75sec rest
ASST’D PULLUPS 5xF, 75sec rest
PECK DIPS 3x12, 35sec rest
DB ROWS 3x12, 30#, 35sec rest, each arm
SHRUGS 3x12, 95#, 35sec rest
LEG CURLS 3x12, 30#, 35sec rest
TREADMILL HIT 20min

The plan is to:

1. Alternate these two, three times a week.
  2. Keep pressure on the larger muscles ie. 3x/wk
  3. Increase weight each day, started with low weight to develop form
  4. Leave out ab work since they are taxed with my main compounds
  5. Shrugs and BB calf raises since I want them to Grow!
  6. Keep this routine until I hit a plateau

Again, feel free to critique

Squat
5x5
145#

Pull-up
5x5
BW

OH Press
5x5
85#

DB Row
3x10
25#

Peck Dip
3x10
BW

Leg Curl
3x10
65#

Hi Ernest

I can’t really comment on the workout as I’m pretty much a complete novice myself.

Good job though on getting started because that’s where most people fail!

Do you know your max for squat, bench, deadlift?

Good basic program; Lower body move, horizontal push, horiz. pull, vert. push, vert pull. Can’t go wrong with that.

You can probably lose the isolation exercises and just really hammer the compound exercises, since you’re looking for functional strength. Then you can go full throttle on the most taxing movements without trying to hold something in reserve for the isolation ones. Fer instance, if you do treadmill, put it on an incline and run on your toes, that’ll pound your calves pretty good while filling the cardio checkbox of the routine.

Leg extensions are not a functional strength exercise. Most of the power in the legs comes from the butt and hamstrings - concentrate on those. Throw in front squats every third workout if you want the quads to get bigger.