Erging / Rowing

I have recently taken to using the Erg in the gym. My focus has been on my back and thought it would be a great way to get the blood flowing again after a training session or to help assist in recovery. This thing kicks my ass!! Literally too, since it requires a lot of leg strength. Does anybody else use this piece of equipment? I have found it to be a great change of pace and vital to my workouts.

I used to be on my college rowing team. I learned to develop a love/hate relationship with that machine. It’s very tough, and is pretty good about sparing muscle mass. There are some truly masochistic workouts out there, (12X 500m with 1.5 minutes rest in between was one of the toughies), check www.concept2.com, they may have some good workouts.

This is my first year rowing in college (I’m a freshman, with no junior rowing experience), and I absolutely love it.

Dubs, I definitely suggest that you get someone qualified to teach you how to erg, if you’ve never rowed before. There is a lot of technique involved, and most people do it grossly wrong.

good2bgreek, I was wondering–how were you able to keep on mass during crew season? I’m eating five or six meals a day here, plus protein shakes, and I feel like it still isn’t enough. Crew is such an incredible amount of cardio, I feel like I can never eat enough!

Best piece of all-round cardio equipment bar none. Still saving to buy my own. Above poster’s right about technique- makes all the difference to the power and speed you achieve- the stroke works in a sequence of legs, back, arms then recovery. Keep your back straight.
Good luck, SRS

I got a POS Rowing machine but I love it for cardio (HIIT) Very good for active rest as well. There seems to be little eccentric.

I became fascinated with rowing last spring. Since buying a shell was way out of my budget I was going to build one from Glen-L marine plans (www.glen-l.com) but I underestimated the cost there too.

So I did the next best thing: