T Nation

Ending a Cut

I’ve been cutting for coming up to 3 months now an have lost 15kg. I’ve done this using intermittent fasting, keeping my calories under 1800 and a rough 40/40/20 macro split so getting between 180 and 200 grams of protein per day. Every time i lose 3lbs (1-1.5kgs) I gave myself a cheat/refeed/carb up day where I could eat anything I want although as I’m using IF I only have 6 hours to do that. Would say most cheat days I’d get between 5 an 7000 calories so obviously would be heavier the next few days.

Recently decided to end my cut the first week in December partly because I feel I will be in good condition by that time and also because i dpn’t want to be on such a strict diet over the holiday ha but am not sure on how I should go about it :S

My original plan was to just up my calories by 100 per week until I am gaining 1-2kg per month but am now unsure. Maybe add 5 grams carbs per week?

The main thing I’m unsure on is what to do about cheat days which I love lol as obviously i’d be putting on all that weight on one day and am guessing its not going to drop as it is now cause I’ll constantly be in a surplus. Would it be better to just allow myself maybe 3 “free” meals per week?

Sorry for the long post. Am basically wanting to know what other people do so I can work out the best plan for me as I don’t want to put back a load of fat I’ve just lost.

Thanks in advance

Tom

Personally id do less than 100 a WEEK. start with a hundred then maybe when your weight gain stalls for a couple weeks increase it by another hundred. I’m not very experienced but when you immediately start adding calories after a cut it is much easier to add fat.

Dude you’re going to have to lower the frequency of your cheat days/ meals as you increase calories more and more.