Element_26's Powerlifting Adventure

It’s about time I started keeping a log online somewhere, and what better place than here?!

First up, my current stats:
Height: 6’2’’
Weight: 102kg

Best lifts:
Squat: 155kg
Bench: 122.5kg
Deadlift: 165kg
Power Clean: 100kg
Press: 72.5kg

Training history:

I started lifting weights as a chubby 17 year-old with absolutely no idea what I was doing. I spent two years making consistent but unremarkable progress, and made all the usual beginner mistakes: I didn’t educate myself properly, I followed pseudo-bodybuilding routines and was overly obsessed with being lean and ripped, rather than big and strong.

That all changed a little over a year ago. I stumbled T-Nation and realised that I had to stop ‘working out’ and start training. I bought Starting Strength and Practical Programming by Mark Rippetoe and started reading everything I could on lifting for strength. I was horribly weak at first, but found the strength programmes to be hugely motivating and enjoyable.

Athletic ability has never come easily to me, and I’ve always had to work myself into the ground to achieve even average results (that just makes the successes and new PRs even sweeter though).

By sorting out my nutrition, working hard in the gym and surrounding myself with other guys at my uni who are into powerlifting and strength training, I’ve been able to make decent progress over the last year, although I’m still far from being considered ‘strong’. Now I’m ready to embark on my own journey into the world of powerlifting.

Short-term goal:

I plan to enter the GBPF All England Championships on 23rd August. I will be competing raw and have set myself a target of achieving a 485kg total (170/130/185). I’m shooting high given my current strength levels, and will have to work harder than I ever have before in the gym over the next couple of months, but that’s why I’m doing it!

Long-term goals: