Electrical Engineering Question

Hi everyone,
I’m a first yr electrical engineer. We have been covering 3 phase power supplies.
I understand true power and reactuve power but I am struggling to understand the relevance of
apparent power. This also means I don’t understand power factor. I understand that apparent power is the vector sum of true and reactive power. I just don’t understand what it really is.

I also would have thought that we would need a total power more than apparent power. That way we could work out what our total power supplied is and how much of that is true vs reactive and so on. I know I must be wrong about this. Can somebody please explain this shit to me?

Thanks

please accept this offering.

Why don’t you appoint a meeting with a teacher so he can explain you?

I did two years of electronical engineering and what you are saying is very familiar, but that was years ago so I can’t help you much.

Power Factor measures the power efficiency within the system. It’s basically a ratio between real and apparent power. The apparent power is important because ideally you want a pf of 1 (purely resistive) meaning a smaller system can be implemented. If your pf is lower than one, its basically more expensive to run the system because it requires more current and causes more voltage drops.

The “relevance” of apparent power here is to build your system close to a pf of 1 and since pf is real power/apparent power. I am an Electrical Engineer but I don’t deal with 3-phase systems too much so I would look into some power focused books, you can download a few for free from (http://artikel-software.com/blog/ebooks/electrical-engineering/). Hope that helps.

[quote]Edevus wrote:

I did two years of electronical engineering and what you are saying is very familiar, but that was years ago so I can’t help you much.[/quote]

Hi Edevus,