Ehh.. weight gain that doesn't make sense

I’ve been bulking for the last two months or so, and I am gaining weight, yet at a slightly alarming rate-i.e. 2-3 lbs. a week, I think. I was previously in a starvation type eating disorder thing, and I’m now eating 3000 cals a day @ 5’7 130. My diet has increased in terms of amounts of protein and fat, and decreased in carbohydrates, plus big rises in fiber. I’m just wondering what the deal is here…total weight gain: 11-12 lbs.

Also, in regards to cutting, is this a good idea while going through SuperStrength/ Limping, or would it be better to bulk through these programs?

How old are you?

After a long time of starvation your body is quite often open to a sudden growth spurt once food starts flowing, not to mention the added water weight which comes with it. Considering your previous weight, the growth of 5kg (12#) seems like something your body has been wanting to do for a while. You’ve just given it the stimulus and rescources to do it.

Actually, it has happened to a few people I know. If it doesn’t subside soon though, perhaps your calories might be too high for your motabolism (sp?), but I find that unlikely at 3000cal.

2-3 lbs / week on a bulk phase is not alarming! It’s impressive! You should be very very pleased.

Don’t do Limping/Superstrength while cutting. They’re too taxing on your muscles and nervous system, and if you’re hypercaloric you won’t get the strength or hypertrophic gains, and you’re recovery will be shit.

Lone you need to get the I am getting fat thing out of your head allready. Bulk for a while.

Yes your body is going to store some fat right off the bat to get it back up to a more natural level befor it begins to build muscle. As well as since you were starving your self it will want to store even more with the excess calories. After it realizes you arent going to starve it again your metabolism will straighten out.