Eggs

Hi, I'm new to the sight and had a question about the quality of eggs.  I'm a college student, so like most I'm broke.  I'm trying to gain size and eat  alot, but find it hard to eat the cafeteria food.  I'm able to cook my own food, But somtimes can't eat chicken and fish and meats all the time since it is so expensive, so for dinner  I somtimes eat a whole carton of eggs,3-4 being yolks, since eggs are cheaper. Are they a complete protein and can I have that as a main protein meal? Thanks guys.

They’re perfect. What i don’t understand is why you people, especially you that are low on cash, throw away 3 grams of protein and 6 grams of good fats by sending the yolks to the thrash can…

Cholesterol…While the body does need some cholesterol (it’s essential for organ growth and protection among other things) and some studies have also shown it to be quite anabolic, too much LDL (bad) cholesterol is definitely a major concern. The general recommendation for cholesterol in the daily diet is somewhere around 300mg in the U.S. When one considers that one yolk alone has a whopping 250mg of cholesterol, it can be seen why so many people stay away from the yolks. Arnold himself even retracted his previous statement that people are dumb for throwing away the yolks in the latest edition of the Modern Encyclopedia of Bodybuilding, probably brought on by his recent heart problems.

Eggs are a great source of protien, I eat 1 dozen a day, 6 in the morning and 6 in the evening. I only use two whole eggs per serving, I ditch the other 4 yolks. So that is roughly 30g of protien per serving. However, you should be taking whey protien as well and if it’s too expensive, Optimum Nutrition 100% whey is on sale at netrition or dpsnutrition for around $25 per 5lb tub. It’s not GROW! but if your broke it will still work ok.