T Nation

Effects of T-Replacement

Hey All,
I'm going to be starting TRT soon. My bioavailable test level right now is 11 (normal between 45-85), so when the deficiency is corrected into the high normal range, we're talking about a major shift, let's say around 6x the available test I have right now. My estrogen is also really high.
I know when the hormone levels are corrected that my libido will increase, memory will be better,etc., but I'm wondering what effect this will have on my muscle mass,strength,and fat loss?

Anyone have any experience with this?

I'm hoping that my muscle and strength is going to increase. and I'm going to lose some fat mass, just because of the hormone correction?

BTW, I'm 26, 325 lbs. 6'6". I'm thinking that one of the reasons that I'm so overweight is because of high estrogen,low testosterone?
I do eat alot of junk though.

Thanks for any insights..

Mate - I'm still learning but chances are your estrogen is going to get higher on HRT. Has your Doc discussed E control with you?

Actually, my doc says that alot of the times when guys raise their testosterone withing normal ranges, estrogen drops.

I think it's when testosterone is taken in to supraphysiological ranges that estrogen becomes a problem.

He did say that if my estrogen doesn't go down on it's own, I'd have to take pills. I'm assuming that he's talking about arimidex.

Fixing your hormonal profile to ideal can do wonders for your BODY COMPOSITION. But you weigh what you weigh b/c of the amount of calories you consume. The right hormone profile will help you lose fat preferentially on a diet, however, so if you go on a calorie deficit diet, you can lose fat easier.

I guess you have to trust your Doc - but my estrogen levels have doubled taking only DHEA! Mind you my test has increased as well.