Effectiveness Of Protein Powders

I created this thread to be an openly discussed forum on everyones personal thoughts on protein powders. Since I started training 4 years ago I’ve always used protein because I’ve always thought what harm can it do. and up until this last year I was never dedicated to using it all the time and drinking it immediately post workout. But I’ve been listening to Artemus Dolgin and that has forced me to reflect on the actual effectiveness it has on me personally. Since then I’ve stopped using protein powder and I still hit my daily 220g of protein through Whole Foods.

1 Like

Protein powders seem to make me hungry, hold water and every so often (depending on brand) put on body fat, which is why I stopped using them many years ago.

Competitive BB’s also cut them out close to contest time because quite frankly we can’t be 100% sure of what’s in them.

Food will often digest slower and may contain other beneficial co factors

It’s a quick, cheap and easy source of protein. I can’t throw a steak in my bag and have it ready and consumed in a few minutes while on the go.

It also doesn’t taste as good and isn’t as satisfying IMO. I also cant sit around a table and have a social protein shake meal with friends/family.

There’s no real debate about whether you need protein powder, ofcourse you don’t but it may make things more convenient, simpler or cheaper for you. These are not bad things.

Do you get any side affects from protein such as an increase in body fat and bloating or a thicker skin feeling? Also just your personal opinion but what do you think about the amount of protein companies say their powders have?

That gave me a bit of a chuckle because I actually do throw steak into my bag, but I’m an idiot with a fondness for cold steak lol ; )

I agree with you 100% - powders are good for many people for convenience and price… If someone can be bothered cooking food they can. It’s up to the individual