Effect of Sleep Schedules on Health/Performance?

Since there is no clear forum for this, and most of the health folk hang out in this forum, I thought I’d ask it here. Mods, feel free to move to whatever forum you feel is appropriate.

So my question is: Is there a clearly significant advantage, regarding health and performance (physical and mental), to sleeping a solid 8 hours? I ask, because with my current school schedule, a sleep schedule of 2AM to 7AM, and then 5PM to 8PM would be ideal.

However, I’ve heard that hormone production is optimized on a straight 8 hour schedule and memory encoding is superior with uninterrupted sleep.

Thoughts?

No takers?

I am by no means an expert but from I’ve read/heard, all that’s required is you get enough sleep for YOUR BODY to recover fully. Sleep requirements are a highly individual thing, so shoot for the average (8hrs) and adjust your sleep time based on how you feel throughout the day.

Personally I’d much rather get my sleep all in one block - what sort of school schedule requires you to go to bed no earlier than 2am?

Partying Lab from 10-2. :wink:

Haha, no it’s kind of just what works for me. I’m in law school, so not much partying anymore.

I tend to like to stay up late AND wake up early because just before sleeping and just prior to waking are my most productive time periods, so I kind of do it by default to a degree already.

Plus I get done with class around 4:30 and am always exhausted when I get done, so it would be nice to crash out then.

I have almost that exact sleep schedule, I’m usually asleep by 230 AM and wake up @ 8 or 9 then take a nap from 630-8, I’ve still been able to operate at a high level in the gym. As far as mentally? I’m an undergrad so my school work is going to be much less demanding than a law grad but I don’t notice any ill effects their either.

I, too, had a similar sleep schedule as an undergrad. It seemed to suit me just fine.