T Nation

Edge Fitness Safety Squat Bar Review

Due to some ongoing shoulder issues that I’ve been having, I recently started looking for a safety squat bar. I didn’t realize there were so many different ones out there. Thankfully, after a bit of searching and asking questions, I was able to narrow my search to the one that I ended up getting. I decided on the Edge Fitness Systems Safety Squat/Yoke Bar. The bar was ordered on a Monday and it arrived on Friday. It is shipped in two separate boxes, the bar in one box and the handles and pads in the other. Assembly took all of about 5 minutes, using a couple of hex keys. All you have to do is connect the handles to the tubes that are welded to the main bar and secure the collars that keep the shoulder pads in place.

The bar:
First off, let me say that as a Mechanical Engineer, I am very picky about how things are made. I definitely favor function over form. If something doesn’t work the way I want it to, I don’t care how it looks. I want functionality first and foremost. The welds on the bar are very nice. They are basically textbook welds, very uniform and well done. I’m pretty sure they were done by hand (by the owner of Edge, Richard Davis, but they look like could have been done by a robot. They are that good. The finish of the bar is a satin black powdercoat. No irregularities could be seen. The coating is very even and smooth. I know the coating will get scratched where the bar sits in my cage and from sliding plates on and off, but to me, it shows pride in workmanship to put a nice powdercoat finish on the bar. finish on it The bar is 43 pounds, 86” end to end. If you’re a real stickler about weights like me, I just slid my 1.25 Olympic plates on the bar and will keep them there. That’s close enough for me! One thing to keep in mind with this bar is that your typical Olympic collars might not fit. I use spring collars on my Olympic bar and they were just slightly too large. To fix this, I bought two 2” spring c