Eddie Van Halen

With his separation from Valerie in the news, and the Tour of David Lee Roth and Sammy Hagar in full swing, I began to reflect on Edward.

I’ve always felt that he would go down as influencing a whole generation of Rock guitarist. Is that overstated? Is he overrated? I don’t think so…but I value you guys opinions…(…and watch out, world…his son Wolfgang is on the horizon!)

Maybe this is a good thing, since the vast majority of his really good music came from before he was married to her. Go Eddie…

No overstatement, Eddie dominated rock guitar in the eighties. His sound and style were fresh and exciting. However I don’t think it’s really possible to “rate” musicians, or any other artists for that matter. You either like the art or you don’t. As a musician, I respect Eddie for what he did early in his career.

I hope that Wolfgang brings something genuinely new to pop music (I use "pop" in the broad sense, not the "bubblegum" sense). It could certainly use an infusion of creativity.

You know I’ve always liked Davie Lee Roth. Yeah, he may have been (or still is) a cocky sumbitch, but he should have been. What a voice.

Didn't hear about the Eddie/Valerie split. Too bad. I believe Eddie influenced a bunch of kiddies to pick up a gee-tar that inevitably began to try to emulate his "style". But I'm sure the same can be said of anyone else who would be considered a "great guitarist". (Like all that was named in that "greatest guitarist" thread)

Almost forgot…Edward also recently got over hip surgery and a bout with cancer of the tongue…

Anyway…it’s been a rocky road lately…

So…the most influential Rock guitarist of a generation or something else?

Mufasa

He came out of nowhere, and gave rock and roll a much needed kick in the ass. All the Guitar “gods” of the '60s and '70s were either dead, in rehab, or burnt out.Definitely one of the greatest rock guitiarists ever, and a huge influence, especially the '80s adn 90’s.