Ectomorph With A Gut

Hi guys. Let me say thanks in advance for any advice… truly appreciated.

Well as you might suspect I am new to weight lifting. I have an ectomorphic body type (6 feet 155 lbs when I started). Every article I have read online mentioned that low reps with heavy weights in combination with a high calorie diet will help me put on some muscle mass.

On the one hand I have had some moderate muscle gains, particularly in the chest and bi/tricep regions. However, I have also put on a significant gut. The growth of my gut has outpaced the growth of my muscles, and I fear if I continue at this rate THAT will become the noticeable gain and not the overall mass.

So I suppose my question is this: should I lower the caloric intake and try to trim the gut back down now, or should I continue the ‘bulking phase’ and just allow the gut to continue to grow with my muscles.

In theory, once I end the bulking phase I should be able to lose the gut, but seeing as how I am an ectomorph, I fear I will lose my muscle gains also. Does anyone have advice on what I should target?

Try cleaning doing a clean bulk with minimal “bad” foods - Spacing out meals throughout the day, get in at least five. And keep eating that protein.

lee priest gets a gut when he bulks too.

I’ve been putting on a gut too. I wouldn’t worry about it. Mine “enlarges” when i eat, otherwise its a normal size. From what I hear, you can lean up really quick, so I wouldnt worry about the gut.

How have your legs progressed?

[quote]SeanT wrote:
Mine “enlarges” when i eat, otherwise its a normal size. [/quote]

I am interested. Are there people out there who think this is abnormal?

[quote]Professor X wrote:
SeanT wrote:
Mine “enlarges” when i eat, otherwise its a normal size.

I am interested. Are there people out there who think this is abnormal?[/quote]

haha, that must of sounded like the stupidest quote. -.- uhhh…im stupid.