Ectomorph Training?

I’m trying to maximize mass on an ectomorph frame without force-feeding (which wouldn’t be permanent). I’m 37, 6’, 165 (have never gotten over 171) lifted regularly for 15 years (mostly split workouts w pyramids). I’m strong enough for my practical purposes (275 bench, 300ish squat) but would like a program that would maximize my mass while maintaining health.

I’ve liked kettlebell circuits (60#) for back pain, and have recently read up on 5/3/1 (worried if it will create enough mass without tearing me up), Gironda’s 10/8/6/15 (overtrain?), and HST (undertrain?). Again, I have little experience with these programs so any experiences or suggestions would be great!

Thanks, Nate

[quote]ns182 wrote:
without force-feeding
[/quote]

If you could do that, I am betting you would be bigger by now.

Just a tip…it isn’t always easy to get the food down to grow…and yes, some might call that “force feeding”.

Also, training based on what you think you look like now is the wrong way to go. Don’t train or eat like an “ectomorph”. Train and eat like someone trying to make progress. Forget the nickname.

You’ve lifted regularly for 15 years yet never weighed more than 171?

You’re not consistently eating enough

What does your normal diet look like?

[quote]Professor X wrote:
Don’t train or eat like an “ectomorph”. Train and eat like someone trying to make progress. Forget the nickname.[/quote]
A crucial concept worth repeating. Nate, let this sink in for a sec.

[quote]ns182 wrote:
I’m trying to maximize mass on an ectomorph frame without force-feeding (which wouldn’t be permanent).[/quote]
What do you mean “wouldn’t be permanent”? You need to eat enough calories to make the scale go up, whether that takes 3,000 calories or 6,000 calories. You have to figure out a way to get there and it might suck at first, but you’ll adapt.

Also, what, exactly, did you eat yesterday?